Faculty of Doctoral Studies & Research

About Us

Nirma University is one of India’s leading universities based in Ahmedabad (Gujarat). The University was established in the year 2003 as a statutory University under a special act passed by the Gujarat State Legislative Assembly. It is recognised by the University Grants Commission (UGC) under Section 2 (f) of the UGC Act. The University is duly accredited by National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). The University is a member of Association of Indian Universities (AIU) and the Association of Commonwealth Universities (ACU). 

Dr Karsanbhai K. Patel, the renowned industrialist and founder Chairman of the Nirma Group  established Nirma Education and Research Foundation (NERF) in 1994 with a view to promote and support higher education in India. Nirma University was established by the initiative of NERF. Functioning under the aegis of the NERF, the University runs Institute of Technology, Institute of Management, Institute of Pharmacy, Institute of Science, Institute of Law and Institute of Architecture. The graduate, postgraduate and doctoral level programmes offered by these institutes are rated highly by accreditation agencies, industry, business magazines and students.

Nirma University started the Doctoral Programme in the year 2003. The University is renowned for the quality and diversity of its research and ample opportunities are provided to faculty and students to hone their research skills, to actively participate in international and national conferences/ events, to publish research work in highly acclaimed research studies and to patent the pioneering research.

The PhD Programmes in the University are offered by the Institute of Technology, Institute of Pharmacy, Institute of Science, Institute of Management and Institute of Law.

The Faculty of Doctoral Studies and Research is the coordinating faculty for the PhD programmes run by the constituent institutes of the University.

The University has recognised the following National Institutes for conducting research under its PhD programmes as Space Applications Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad; Physical Research Laboratory (PRL), Ahmedabad; Institute of Plasma Research, Gandhinagar; B.V. Patel Pharmaceutical, Education and Research Development Centre, Ahmedabad; Directorate of Forensic Science, Government of Gujarat, Gandhinagar; Cadila Pharmaceuticals Limited, Clinical Research and Pharmacology Centre (R&D), Ahmedabad and Intas Biopharmaceuticals Limited, Biotechnology Division (R & D) Centre, Ahmedabad.

The University offers Full-time and External PhD programmes. A large number of sponsored research projects are funded by agencies such as the UGC, DST, DBT, ICMR etc.