Institute of Technology, Nirma University, Ahmedabad organized its 6th Nirma University International Conference on Engineering NUiCONE 2017 on 23rd November 2017. The inaugural ceremony was attended by eminent academicians, faculty members and students from various educational institutions and representatives from the industry.

The inaugural ceremony started with lighting the lamp of knowledge. Dr. Alka Mahajan, Director, Institute of Technology, Nirma University delivered the welcome address and congratulated the entire team of NUiCONE 2017, authors, delegates, sponsors, reviewers, volunteers and the management.  The inaugural ceremony was graced by the Chief Guest, Padma Vibhushan Shri. Dr. Anil Kakodkar, President, National Academy of Sciences, India and the Guest of Honour, Dr. A. Jayaraman, Vice President, International Committee on Space Research-COSPAR, Paris. The conference chair, Dr. B. A. Modi, briefed about NUiCONE 2017 and mentioned the need of taking green initiatives, pollution control and its impact on the environment for the societal benefit. The Chief Guest, Dr. Anil Kakodkar, in his speech mentioned the challenges that are being faced by rural India and need to improve their quality of life. The education to every individual, identifying the potentials within, dissemination of knowledge and creation of values are the biggest challenges at the forefront.  There is a need to increase the investment in science for the economic development of the country and further increasing conversion rates to be comparable among the leading countries in the world. The larger market of future lies in rural India which gives opportunities to the entrepreneurs to develop low cost products. He also suggested that the only solution to these critical problems is to develop a conducive innovation ecosystem in which all the stakeholders need to participate equally.

The vote of thanks was proposed by Dr. Parul Patel, Conference Co-Chair. She thanked the management, guests, session chairs, sponsors, participants, authors, co-authors, delegates, media persons, faculty, volunteers, staff and students.